Setting Stones

When you start making jewelry, you start with things like bead stringing and wire wrapping. In my jewelry education, I then tried things like chain maille, viking knitting, glass bead making, etching, etc. Most recently I’ve started bezel-setting stones for pendants, rings, earrings and bracelets.

Las Islas Turquoise Ring

Las Islas Turquoise Ring

It was a struggle at first to get soldering to work the way it was supposed to, and I still have productive days and not-so-productive days. But I’ve added several pieces to my gallery that show the new styles I’m working in. Today I’ve got a labradorite pendant underway, as well as a turquoise bracelet. Keep an eye out for more pieces… Once I get better at this, I’m hoping to start setting gemstones in prong and box settings!

This entry was published on July 16, 2016 at 11:47 am. It’s filed under Jewelry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment