Gold or Silver?

2563-1People have strong preferences about their jewelry, even down to the type of metal they prefer. “I always wear gold,” one woman said to me. “It suits my coloring.” While that’s probably true, I could imagine several color combinations that would look great on her in silver. But she’s got her thing, and I respect that.

2607-2I wore silver through college, and well into my 30’s. Not because it suited me better, necessarily, but because it was what I could afford. Now that I can afford somewhat more expensive pieces I have quite a bit more gold – and I have some relatively inexpensive gold-filled pieces, as well. 2088-1

And it sure seems like some colors match better with one metal than the other – I don’t often see turquoise stones in a gold setting, for example. And emeralds seem to glow when mixed with gold.

 

Are you a gold or silver wearer? Do you ever mix the two? Why do you prefer one over the other?2433-3

This entry was published on September 12, 2013 at 12:12 pm. It’s filed under Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment