Crafty Projects – The Patchwork Box

Patchwork box

Patchwork box

For Christmas my mom gave me several quilting books, one of which was “Sunday Morning Quilts” by Amanda Jean Nyberg and Cheryl Arkison. I love a new quilt book, and even though I had three (or more) projects underway, I got all excited about working through my scrap stash. Like many people, I buy fabric for a specific project, and then I end up with bits and pieces that feel too useful to throw away but I have no idea what to do with them.Box 2

“Sunday Morning Quilts” is based entirely on scrap projects, and from quilts to little storage boxes. I can also see now how you could use scrap blocks to make other things, like bags and purses… Now that my eyes are opened, the possibilities are endless!

I took an afternoon to sort my scraps, and to go through my fabric stash to properly sort that, as well. I loved the idea of the fabric boxes, so I used my orange scraps to make one of those… and I’m dying to make more. The Patchwork box used up a bunch of my scraps and a fat quarter, and came together pretty quickly.

For now, all the other colored scraps are sorted and in paper bags until I get around to making more boxes!!

Scrap bags

Scrap bags

 

This entry was published on January 5, 2013 at 9:59 am. It’s filed under Crafty, Sewing and Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

