Christmas stockings – getting crafty for the holidays

StockingsMy husband has complained for several years that our Christmas stockings aren’t big enough. I think he’d really like a 4 foot stocking, but I think anything large enough to hide an entire child is a bit insane. Plus, I’d have to spend $200 just to fill the dang thing!

So this year I bought some felt on sale at the fabric store and made some stockings for us. I used a tutorial from one of my favorite bloggers, Amy Smart of “Diary of a Quilter” and instead of two kinds of Christmas fabric, I used the felt and some muslin that had been a Roman toga in a previous (Halloween costume) life. I used some online photos of stockings to come up with ideas, and spent a lot of time tracing shapes, cutting out patterns, and measuring things – a switch from my usual “throw it together” style. On the first stocking I embellished my Christmas tree with little Swarovski crystals and pearls from my jewelry creation stash for some extra bling.Christmas Scene

The second stocking is a reindeer, but I had to laugh at how much it looks like a greyhound. Good thing the antlers and red nose clarify things! I also added some white felt to the ends of the pattern in order to make the cuff of this one felt. I think I’ll take the first one apart and do the same to it – it adds a bit more room in the stocking (to make hubby happy) and makes for a prettier cuff.Reindeer

I’ll have to put together some more of these, but I felt successful getting these two whipped up in time for Christmas!

This entry was published on December 28, 2012 at 11:46 am. It’s filed under Crafty, Sewing and Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

