A new quilt project

In the beginning… the Planetarium Quilt

My fabric stash has been building, lately, and threatening to take over our guest room. I’ve purchased fabric for several quilts I intend to make, but I’ve been too focused on jewelry creation of late to get any quilt time in. So now it’s time!

I follow several other quilting bloggers, and Ashley of Film in the Fridge has really gotten me hooked on the Flea Market Fancy fabric from Denyse Schmidt. Another one of the quilting bloggers I love, Elizabeth Hartman of the Oh, Fransson! blog wrote The Practical Guide to Patchwork book that I recently purchased. I am now completely over the moon about this book!

Combining these two infatuations (the book and the Flea Market Fancy), I’ll be working on Elizabeth’s “Planetarium” quilt, using the Denyse Schmidt fabric. This design calls for hourglass blocks, so that’s a little new for me – I hope my cutting skills are up to the task. Stay tuned for progress!

This entry was published on September 27, 2012 at 9:27 am. It’s filed under Crafty, Sewing and Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A new quilt project

  1. Oh yes, those are already beautiful!

Leave a Reply

