Inspiration and Innovation

A couple of months ago I bought some new quilting books for inspiration: Quilting Modern by Jacquie Gering and Katie Pedersen and Quilts from the House of Tula Pink. Both of these have been great for kicking off new ideas, learning new techniques, and encouraging me to try things that I might ordinarily find nerve-wracking. Quilting Modern definitely opens new pathways to piecing with lots of free form shapes, but it also has a very comprehensive background section on sewing methods, tools of the “trade”, combining colors, and a fantastic section on backing, binding and quilting. I’ve always groaned when a quilt pattern says “Quilt as desired” because I’m the kind of person who at least wants a guide to get me thinking. This book offers plenty of ideas.

Both of these books are eye candy, but Tula Pink’s book is lush with design and color. As a fabric designer (how do people do that?) she has a great eye for combinations, shapes, colors and patterns, and she’s at once a rebel and a perfectionist. Both of these books offer projects that are not quilts – bags, pillows, other ideas – so they give quilters a chance to whip up quicker projects.

More importantly, both books are filled with techniques that can help a beginning quilter feel a bit more comfortable, and challenges for those who may feel stuck in a rut. Plus, they’re gorgeous. The quilts are stunning, there are tons of photos, and even if I never sewed a thing, just flipping through them is joyful!

This entry was published on August 19, 2012 at 9:30 am. It’s filed under Crafty, Sewing and Quilts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Inspiration and Innovation

  1. Kayla Bates on said:

    I’ve recently started exploring quilting and love it. I finished my first top layer in about 3 days, but now that I’m at the batting and backing point, I’m intimidated. 🙂 I may need to look into a book with instructions.

Leave a Reply

