The Lemongrass Gimlet

The Lemongrass Gimlet

I recently found myself with a bunch of lemongrass that had gone unused. I think I bought it to make a pork recipe, but then we got busy and I didn’t cook the dish. So there it was, lingering in my crisper drawer, and I decided to put it to work. Thus, I made a batch of simple syrup, and used the lemongrass to infuse the simple syrup. Yum!

Simple syrup is very easy to make – it’s just a cup of sugar and a cup of water in a saucepan – boil until the sugar melts into the water. I sliced the lemongrass stalks lengthwise and added them to the boiling mixture, then left the lemongrass in until the syrup had fully cooled. I strained out the lemon grass, and voila!

How to use this lemongrass-infused simple syrup? Well, I thought a gimlet sounded lovely. Normally a gimlet is made with gin (or vodka) and Rose’s lime juice, which is a preserved lime juice mixture. I decided to skip the Rose’s, and use fresh lime juice and the lemongrass simple syrup. Delicious!

The Lemongrass Gimlet
2 oz gin
2 oz fresh lime juice
1 oz lemongrass simple syrup
Chill martini glass with ice and water. Combine above ingredients in shaker with ice. Shake. Empty martini glass, strain shaker mixture into glass. Garnish and enjoy!
Note: I like a sour drink. You may choose to adjust the lime juice to simple syrup ratio to please your palate!

This entry was published on July 28, 2012 at 11:02 am. It’s filed under Crafty, Food, Wine, Cocktails, Etc. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “The Lemongrass Gimlet

  1. This looks so totally delicious!

Leave a Reply

