Honey Glazed Pecans

Pecans in Honey

Pecans are a staple in the South – whether you say pe-KAHN or PEE-can. As we come into warmer weather, I find myself making more salads, and one of my very favorite additions to a salad are honey-glazed pecans. I have been buying mine at one of the upscale grocery stores, but it’s not in my neighborhood and I have to make a special trip. I thought I’d try making my own, so I jumped out to the Web to check some recipes.

The recipes varied widely, some requiring lengthy baking times, others as simple as a skillet, pecans and honey. I thought I’d start out with a simple version – just honey and pecans in a skillet – but when I poured them onto a cookie sheet to cool, they stayed very sticky, as if they were coated in caramel.

So I thought I’d go ahead and move on to the next type of recipe – the baked version. I took the cookie sheet with the pecans and put it into a 350 oven for about 12 minutes. Then I cooled the pecans again. This time the honey was more of a brittle texture, but the pecans were a bit overdone. Closer… but not quite perfect. I’ll have to continue to noodle on this one – any comments are welcome!

Honey-Glazed Pecans
1 cup pecans
1/4 cup honey
Fleur de Sel salt – to taste

Heat the pecans and honey in a skillet until the honey begins to foam. Pour the pecans and honey out onto a parchment or silpat-lined baking sheet – separate the pecans and sprinkle with Fleur de Sel salt if desired; let cool for at least 15 minutes.

It was at this point that I put the cooled pecans, on the cookie sheet, into a 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes – check them at 10 minutes so that you don’t overcook them, like I did.

not quite right... hmmm...

This entry was published on April 26, 2012 at 9:16 am. It’s filed under Crafty, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

