Lavender Sea Salt Scrub

Lavender bath salts

I’m a nut about bath stuff. Bath bombs, bubble bath, sugar scrub, salt scrub, you name it, I love it. And of course, you make your own stuff quite easily. Here’s a little adaptation of a sea salt scrub I just whipped up. It took me 5 minutes, and would make a great gift.

  • 2.5 ounces coarse sea salt
  • 2.5 ounces fine sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of grapeseed oil
  • 8-12 drops of lavender essential oil
  • lavender buds (optional)

I dug into my sea salt stash for these, and used a grey Sel de Guerande as the coarse sea salt. Probably a travesty to use that lovely gray salt as a bath salt, but hey, live a little. You can easily find both kinds of salt at a store near you or online. Grapeseed oil is a light oil you should be able to find with olive and canola oil at your grocery store.

The lavender essential oil and buds I bought from a vendor at my local farmers market, but health food stores, craft stores and natural products stores should have these, and I’m sure you can also buy them online (what can’t you buy online, seriously?).

I mixed the two salts together, added the grapeseed oil, then several drops of the essential oil until I liked the scent. I added about a tablespoon of the buds for a little color and texture. Then into this cute little jar, and voila! I love the lavender for evening baths – it’s

Mm, smells great!

relaxing and gets me ready for bedtime.

This entry was published on February 17, 2012 at 9:30 am. It’s filed under Crafty and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

