Metalworking and creating components

I’ve been making my own earring wires for several years now – it’s much more economical and I get exactly the shape I’m looking for. I use 20 gauge sterling silver or gold-filled wire for all of my earrings, which ensures a comfortable fit, since 20 gauge is wide enough not to put stress on your piercing. Different designs lend themselves to different shapes of earrings wires, as well. Here’s some examples of different types of earring wires I’ve created for my work.

I’ve also experimented with different types of bead caps, connectors in rings in my work. I punch bead caps out of sheet metal, texture them with stamps or a hammer, and then dome them with a dapping tool. They’re used to give a bit more flair to a bead or to add more decoration. I’ve used metal as connectors or as ornamentation in the earring itself. And fine silver rings show up all over my work!

This entry was published on January 13, 2012 at 9:30 am. It’s filed under Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

