Changing seasons

Deliciousness at Big Woods Brewing Co.

I just got back from a trip to Indiana with my husband – we went to visit friends for a wedding and so that he could show me ’round his hometown. Originally I’m also from the mid-west, and I’ve often said how happy I am to be a southern transplant. But this summer in Austin was so brutal – hellishly hot, disastrously dry, and as flammable as a stack of kindling – that I was actually looking forward to a change in scenery and weather.

Our first couple of days were cold and rainy, and I arrived without a coat at all – mine was in storage. I secured one of the sweetest down jackets I’ve ever seen, and from then on the weather was never an issue. My blood’s thin, what can I say?! The whole visit was lovely – Southern Indiana has more rolling hills than my part of the mid-west, and the trees were really getting into their colors – yellows, oranges, and brilliant reds. We spent a couple of days at a friend’s lake house and I was hooked.

We went to Nashville, in Brown County, to visit craft stores and some of the local artisans, and we stumbled across a delicious brewpub – the Big Woods Brewing Company. Sitting outside on their gorgeous reclaimed wooden porch, we snacked on phenomenal Zesty Pulled Pork BBQ Nachos and quaffed (their word, not me getting all Shakespearean) Six Foot Blonde and Busted Knuckle Ale. What a perfect way to enjoy a season I barely remember – the smell of woodsmoke, a cool beer, a warm down jacket, and the colors of the leaves on the trees. Needless to say, we’ll be heading back again next fall!

 

This entry was published on October 25, 2011 at 4:23 pm. It’s filed under Food, Wine, Cocktails, Etc. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

