Road rash and red wine

On Saturday, while out for an easy mountain bike ride with my husband and his friend Patrick, I surprised a squirrel on a footbridge. The squirrel shot out ahead of me, and I managed to veer around him… straight into the path of an oncoming jogger. I managed to miss the jogger, but my rear tire slid on loose dirt, and I spilled across the front handlebars, knees and arms bonking and skidding on the cement of the path, sliding into an ungraceful heap, my chin lightly tapping the ground as I came to rest.

Thankfully nothing was broken. I’m scuffed and bruised and have a wrenched shoulder, but all in all I came away fairly lucky. I finished the ride, and once back home, I began the job of salving my pride. After a shower to wash off the dirt, I went straight for the Ibuprofen and red wine. Now, I’m no doctor, and I won’t prescribe this cure for anyone else, but I couldn’t think of anything I needed more. I put an ice pack on my knee, sipped my wine, and sat quietly, cursing that squirrel. Oh, and my wine of choice would be Caldaro Sunflower Pino Nero.

This entry was published on October 17, 2011 at 5:27 pm. It’s filed under Wine, Cocktails, Etc. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

