Fall Jewelry Trends

I can’t exactly say that I’m a trend-follower. I’m more the kind of girl who picks a few classic items, then looks all over for some unlikely, unusual items to mix and match. I have a bunch of funky skirts that I pair with plain black tops or t-shirts, and I have a slew of unusual tops that I toss over jeans or black pants or skirts. And I’m a junkie for funky footwear, because you can always jazz up basic black with a fabulous shoe.

But I thought it was worth taking a look at the Fall Jewelry Trends, as touted by the fashion world. Never hurts to be aware, does it?

I ran across the Refinery 29 Trend Watch, and flipped through their Fall Trends slide show, and the thing that caught my eye were duster earrings. Long, dangling earrings are definitely fun, especially with short hair or an updo.

According to Fashionology, collar necklaces are going to be all the rage. I like the idea – a bigger statement is great when colors get more subdued into the fall and winter.

But if you’re not able to shop the haute couture shops (and let’s face, who really can? I’m no Lady Gaga), what are some accessible options? Handmadeology has some great ideas. They’ve also noticed that big and bold will be part of the focus for the fall, and that you can go from earthy and natural textures and colors all the way to pearls, crystals and metals. But oversized, statement pieces seem to be making their way into the fashions – what can’t you live without?

This entry was published on September 15, 2011 at 4:38 pm and is filed under Jewelry. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

