With this hammer…

Fine Silver Oval Rings

Lately I’ve been doing more metalworking. I have a bunch of sheet metal – copper, brass and sterling silver – and I have metal snips to cut as well as this nifty little punch that makes circles of different sizes.

I’ve got a mini anvil, I’ve got a series of blocks I use to hammer on, I’ve got all these nifty texturing items… I have torches to heat and melt metal and solder, and I have a whole set up to create different patinas. The techniques behind all this metal work are terrifically varied and there are zillions of articles and books on how and what to do. I started out with a simple fusing class, where we learned how to fuse fine silver in order to make rings like this. I use the rings in all kinds of jewelry applications, and you can shape the rings into triangles, squares, hearts, whatever.

I’ve been creating lots of metal findings for my own work, and yesterday I completed an order of 500 fine silver headpins for a pair of jewelry artists, which was very exciting. With my hammer and my torch, I’m heading in all kinds of new directions!

These earrings feature a hammered silver ring

This entry was published on July 3, 2011 at 10:00 am. It’s filed under Jewelry, Studio, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

