The Bees Knees – A Prohibition-era cocktail

 

The Bees Knees

I was in New York last week for a trade show, and it was beastly, oppressively hot. I know, I know – I’m from Texas, where the highs are higher by a mile, but the difference is air conditioning. We have it in spades. I often leave my office with cold toes when it’s 101 outside. New York ain’t built for heat, y’all.

After the first day of the show, I settled in with my workmates at a bar and saw The Bees Knees on the featured cocktail list. That’s the ticket! Fresh, crisp, slightly sweet and best of all – cold. In a cold martini glass, glistening with condensation. I’d forgotten this cocktail, and now I’m hooked again. It’s a gin-based drink, but I dare you to taste it and tell me if you think it’s gin or vodka, because it’s that light and lovely.

The version in my cocktail guide was way off – it had orange juice and Cointreau, and I quit reading there. This is a super simple cocktail, and it needs just a few basic ingredients. Here’s what I recommend:

2 oz Gin (doesn’t need to be super high-end, I used Tanqueray)
1 oz freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 oz honey syrup*

Chill your martini glass by filling with ice and water for a few moments, then empty it.

Add all ingredients to a shaker filled with ice. Shake briskly for 5 seconds – strain into martini glass. Garnish with lemon twist.

*I made my honey syrup with equal parts of honey and hot water. I recommend using a light-colored honey, since the darker honey I used gave a slightly deeper flavor. I’ll keep testing this one until I get it perfect….

This entry was published on June 14, 2011 at 3:04 pm. It’s filed under Food, Wine, Cocktails, Etc. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

