I love gemstones

Look. Why fight it? I love sparkly things. I can’t resist a faceted stone. I love teardrops, onion shapes, marquis shapes, briolettes – any faceted stone. And they don’t even have to be particularly expensive. Facet up a drop of quartz and I’m in love. Facet an emerald or a ruby, and I’m hooked.

Some shapes are easier for me to work with than others, but I really love them all.

Neptune's Tear - Teal Quartz Drop

Golden Box Earrings - Faceted Whiskey Quartz

I buy my stones from lots of different sources, and there are always more I want to buy, but it can get to be an expensive habit, so I try to find things I know I can turn into creations that others will like. Lately I’ve been really interested in rubies, but blue topaz is always a favorite.

Different stones combine with silver or gold differently, too. I can’t see rubies with silver, but blue stones seem perfect with it. Nothing’s hard and fast – it’s just more a preference.

Anyway, these are just a few of my newer creations with gemstones – see more at http://www.divakami.etsy.com!

Fascination Necklace - Ruby

This entry was published on May 18, 2011 at 4:04 pm. It’s filed under Jewelry, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

