Mother’s Day Strawberry Mojitos

Family gatherings – at their best they’re delightful, at their worst, they can be as scarring as an acid bath. Spring in my family brings a round of family gatherings, including my mom’s birthday, my birthday, and Mother’s Day, all within about 30 days of each other. For Mother’s Day I offered to host brunch at our house, even though half the kitchen is in storage (as we get the house ready to go on the market).

I’ve packed most of my cookbooks, and honestly, I just wanted some quick, simple things to whip up. In my perusing of the web, I stumbled across a couple of strawberry mojito recipes, and my interest was piqued. Due to my ill-advised planting of mint in the raised garden a couple of years ago, we always have mint – it has infested the garden no matter how I dig it out, and it’s even migrated to the lawn. So I sat down with the mojito recipes and tried to conjure up the best version.

I whipped these up for brunch, and though my mom’s not a huge drinker, she does have a soft spot for sweet fruity drinks (she loved the summer that I perfected the all-handmade margarita). Mom downed one of these mojitos, then dug to the bottom of the glass to dig out the strawberry bits…I think this recipe was a success!

(to make simple syrup, combine 1 cup water and one cup of sugar – boil until the sugar melts, then cool.)

Strawberry Mojitos
1 1/2 oz simple syrup
3 strawberries
6-8 mint leaves
1 lime, cut in half
2 oz light rum
splash of Sprite

Put the simple syrup, strawberries and mint in the bottom of a 12 oz glass and muddle, breaking up the strawberries. Squeeze the lime halves into the glass, and add the rum. Fill the glass with crushed ice, then top with a splash of Sprite to taste. Stir and enjoy!

This entry was published on May 10, 2011 at 2:35 pm. It’s filed under Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

