I have a blowtorch in my garage

As a beadmaker, I love to say this. People say “You made that? How did you MAKE a glass bead?” And my reply is always “I have a blowtorch in my garage.”

I do, too. It’s a propane-oxygen torch that heats up to 1100 degrees (or so) Fahrenheit. I also have a little kiln that I pop my finished beads into. It’s not an optimal set-up, the workstation in the garage. In order to have “proper ventilation” I have to leave the door open, which means the stray gusts of wind can wreak havoc on my flame, and I freeze in the winter and fry in the summer. But it’s what I’ve got. And I get totally OCD about bead making. I can’t just sit down for a quick session – I have to clear my calendar and hunker down for hours.

That’s just how I work best.

What do I make? Here’s some beads from a recent session…

Lampwork Beads

This entry was published on February 22, 2011 at 5:51 pm. It’s filed under Jewelry, Studio and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

