Cleaning up the studio

My studio always seems to be a wreck. It’s just an open “bonus room” at the top of our staircase, so the cats come and go, jump on my tables, etc. But I can’t blame it all on them. I seem to work a bit better when things are in view. Put all the materials away, and my brain stalls out. But it’s like a see-saw – if I let things get too out of control it’s maddening. So I’ve been working on trying to minimize my clutter. It’s time to get rid of things, clean up, organize, to a degree.

I’ve thrown things away, I’ve put things into containers, and I’ve bought new containers in which to put things. I’m not done yet, but I’m getting there. What’s your work space like? Are you a neatnik or a slob? (I’m more slob than anything else.)

Here’s my metal-working area… it’s progressing nicely, don’t you think?

This entry was published on February 22, 2011 at 12:02 am and is filed under Studio. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

